AUBERGE DU TRÉSOR
Enjoy a spectacular view of Old Quebec and Château Frontenac.
“The buildings comprising Auberge du Trésor and Bistro 1640 are built on a rich historical site. In 1740, a half-timber house standing at the corner of Sainte-Anne and Du Trésor becomes the only permanent housing for the French regime in New France. It would become known as the home of the Company of the One Hundred Associates, with 100 shareholders appointed by Richelieu, and of which Samuel de Champlain was a member. This company was granted a monopoly over fur trade for 15 years and a monopoly over all other trade for perpetuity. In return, the company agreed to administer the colony, bring in over 4,000 colonists, defend the territory, and convert the Indians. It was this company that made it possible to start the great adventure known as New France. In 1713, Jean Lerouge, the king’s surveyor, built a one-storey stone house on the site. Today, some of the walls and vaults of the inn are remnants of that house.”
Auberge du Trésor is now offering visitors of Quebec City a warm experience combined with the charm of a boutique hotel and the romanticism of a historical building.
Ideally-located : in Old Quebec: facing Château Frontenac, right in the middle of the neighbourhood favoured by travellers, and where everything is within walking distance.
The inn has a boutique hotel feel and you will be warmly greeted by thoughtful staff members
The building’s quaint charm dates back to 1640, with brick and stone walls featured in some rooms
This romantic destination is perfect for couples
With its fantastic view of Château Frontenac, warm ambiance, refined yet accessible cuisine with stellar meat and wine pairings, BISTRO 1640 – whose name is inspired by the home of the One Hundred Associates, dating back to 1640 – is a superb vintage that is ready to be savoured.